Background of air ambulances/medevac in West Africa

West Africa, also called Western Africa and the West of Africa, is the westernmost sub-region of  the continent of Africa.

West Africa has been defined as including 18 countries:

  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso,
  • Cape Verde
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Ivory Coast
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Togo

Advantage of the location of  Flying Doctors Nigeria for medical evacuation in West Africa

The Flying Doctors Nigeria air ambulance plane is strategically located at the international airport in Lagos, Nigeria, which means that it can reach any of these destinations in a few hours in addition to Central African countries like Congo, Central African Republic, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

The healthcare infrastructure varies across the region such that intra-regional transfers are often required.

To learn about regional transfers first hand, read our story written by the flight physician himself here: